Simple Roasted Carrots

Maybe it’s the bright sunshine of the past few weeks, but it’s safe to say I’m having a bit of a color moment. I think I should institute a new rule whereby I only cook/eat/photograph colorful foods. Sound good?

DSC_1076_438edit1
DSC_1104_439edit2

It’s a bit ironic that some of the most vibrant hued fruits and vegetables come about during the dark and grey winter. Although in Richmond, our winter has been far from dark and grey. I’m typing this while sitting on my deck and sipping some decaf mango green tea in short sleeves. In January. It’s a bit crazy. I don’t know where winter has gone, but I think I can live without it if it stays like this. I’ll take the spring weather and brightly colored veggies, like these carrots, any day.

DSC_1164_441edit1

These simple roasted rainbow carrots are beautifully jewel toned and intensely sweet. They don’t need much to be phenomenal – just a bit of acid, some thyme, salt, pepper, and a kiss of honey. The key to making great roasted carrots of any color is to keep them al dente. No one over the age of 5 likes mushy carrots, so please don’t roast them to death. Now, get outside and enjoy this amazing weather – I know I will.

DSC_1189_443edit1

Roasted Carrots
Yield varies depending on number of carrots

1 bunch of carrots (rainbow or regular), peeled
2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
½ Tbsp. olive oil
½ tsp. dried thyme
1 tsp. honey
salt + pepper

1. Preheat your oven to 400F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. Peel carrots and trim leafy tops. Place on a baking sheet slightly spaced apart.
3. In a small bowl, whisk together all ingredients and lightly drizzle over the carrots.
4. Give the carrots another pinch of salt and fresh black pepper.
5. Roast for 15-20 minutes, depending on size of carrots, until easily pierced with a fork but still firm.

10 thoughts on “Simple Roasted Carrots

  1. I have never seen rainbow carrots before they look smashing! I’m with you fresh root veggies only really need a simple roasting with a minimum of other flavouring ingredients. Stunning colours a nice posting thank you so much for sharing. Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia

  2. Heirloom carrots are delicious and make any typical meal look 100% better! As for the weather, we’re not complaining, it can stay this warm all “winter” long! Our Food Lovers would love to hear about this on our community page! http://bit.ly/yI0sZU

Leave a comment