Green Egg Muffins

First, some exciting news – I can’t discuss details yet but you will be seeing some gluten-free recipes and photography by yours truly coming to a magazine stand near you in the not-so distant future. I can’t begin to express how utterly excited I am about this – to say that 2012 is off to great start would be an understatement. Thank you to everyone who reads or simply glances at this blog; putting my recipes and photography out there has helped me grow in unexpected ways and I always appreciate everyone’s comments, tweets, and encouragement! (P.S. did you catch the photo feature on bonappetit.com?! I discovered that completely by accident but was so excited).

_12921_328edit1

I hope everyone enjoyed the tips posted earlier this week! I am going to try and post some additional health and fitness related things in the future but don’t worry, the main focus of this blog will still be recipes, both healthy and indulgent. Just don’t expect me to turn into a blogger that tries to make everything over-the-top healthy – I love chocolate, red wine, butter, and cream far too much. I would say that I eat very healthy and clean about 85% of the time but I’m not a girl who turns down a gin martini (extra dirty, extra dry please) just to save some calories. I am a big believer in moderation and quite frankly, there’s more to life than love handles. With that in mind, I thought I would share a healthy recipe that can help balance out those gin martinis.

_12900_327edit1

Behold, egg muffins. Not quite frittatas, not quite quiches – just veggies and eggs together in portable muffin form. I make a variation on these guys every week to have as a quick breakfast or afternoon snack since I’m all about prepping and planning ahead. The husband doesn’t eat them since he really isn’t fond of the texture of baked scrambled eggs, which means more for me! If you’re a frittata lover like me, then you will love these little egg muffins packed with good green stuff like kale, cilantro, and jalapenos. They’re great to grab and go during the week or on those weekends where you have a to-do list a few miles long. Speaking of which, I need to get going on my to-do list that includes pie making, errand running, wine drinking, workouts, and house cleaning. Happy Friday!

_12821_322edit1

Green Egg Muffins
Adapted from: Oxygen Magazine
Yields: 12 muffins

3 cup kale, de-stemmed and chopped into thin ribbons
1/4 onion, small diced or 4 green onions, finely sliced
2 Tbsp. fresh cilantro, minced
1 jalapeno, very finely diced (de-seed and remove the white parts to decrease spice)
1 Tbsp. dried oregano
11 egg whites (I use a small carton of organic, free-range liquid egg whites. You can also just use 12 whole eggs if you don’t like egg whites)
7 whole eggs
salt + pepper

1. Preheat oven to 375F and spray a muffin tin with cooking spray and line with muffin liners (optional, I usually don’t).
2. In a medium, microwave-safe bowl steam prepped kale in the microwave for 2-3 minutes until soft and wilted. Place in a large bowl and set aside.
3. In that same microwave-safe bowl, add diced onions and microwave for about 1 minute. This helps take away some of the strong, raw onion-y taste. Add onions to the bowl with the kale.
4. Add cilantro, oregano, jalapeno, salt, and pepper to the same onion/kale mix and stir to combine. Set aside for now.
5. In a separate large bowl, whisk together whole eggs, egg whites, salt, and pepper. You want the mixture to ribbon off the whisk and be fully scrambled. Whisk hard and use those biceps!
6. Distribute the veggie mixture evenly between your 12 muffin cups.
7. Distribute egg mixture evenly between cups, pouring over veggie mix. I usually use a 1/3 cup measuring cup to do the job.
8. Bake for about 30 minutes until the muffins are golden brown and puffed up.
9. Let cool in pan for a few minutes and then remove to a cooling rack. Try to remove them to a rack as soon as you can safely do so, while keeping the muffins intact. If they sit in the pan too long, they continue to stem and the texture can get rubbery.
10. Store in your fridge and reheat in a counter-top oven or microwave.

7 thoughts on “Green Egg Muffins

  1. Pingback: A Reader Recipe: Gluten-Free Green Egg Muffins | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Gluten-free Paprika Thyme Crackers | Gabby's Gluten-Free

  3. Looks delicious. Can you clarify the amount of eggs if I use whole eggs? Would I use 12 whole eggs in total? Or 12 in place of the carton of egg whites plus the additional 7 whole eggs listed?
    Thanks, I can’t wait to try it!!

  4. Pingback: Gluten-free Living Series: Continuing Healthy Habits & Meal Templates | Gabby's Gluten-Free

Leave a Reply

