ABCs of Food

I saw this survey on another blog and thought it looked fun – so I did it.  Don’t fret – I will have a recipe for you soon!

A is for Apple, what’s your favorite variety?

I can’t pick just one!  My favorites are whatever I pick at the orchard in the fall – honeycrisps and pink lady are amazing. So are granny smith.  I have an apple addiction.  So does this gal:

She cries if you don’t give her any and she knows the word “apple”.

B is for Bread, regardless of nutrition, calories, or whole grains what is your favorite type to have a nice big piece of?

NONE. Obviously, I am gluten-free and  really, I am not a huge fan of g-free bread.  But before going g-free it would have to be either pumpernickel or French baguette with a heaping bowl of mussels. Oh yes.

C is for Cereal, what is your favorite kind, currently?

I can safely say that I probably haven’t had cereal in at least two years (minus when I was really sick and all I could stomach were g-free cheerios). I really don’t like cereal that much.  But I do miss Grapenuts, I could eat those all day.

D is for Doughnuts, you might not currently be eating them but what kind do you fancy?

The gluten-free kind:

E is for Eggs, how would you like yours prepared?

Over-easy , poached, or baked – there are few things better than a perfectly poached egg.

I would like that egg over roasted scallops, bacon, and peas like I had last night. Oh. My. GOD.

Or wrapped in bacon.

F is for Fat Free, what is favorite fat free product?

Fat is flavor. And good fats are very good for you.  Enough said.

G is for Groceries, where do you purchase yours at?

The farmer’s market – every Saturday.  We supplement with bulk items (like grains, rice, nuts, etc)  from Ellwood Thompson’s and the occasional Trader Joe’s/Costco trip (mostly to load up on butter, frozen fruit, and giant jars of pickles).

H is for Hot Beverages, what is your favorite hot drink?

Coffee, coffee, coffee.

I is for Ice Cream, pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping

I love most ice cream flavors – vanilla is always amazing when done right.

Ginger ice cream feeds my ginger obsession.

And for a topping – crumbled chocolate dulce de leche cupcake (note to self:  make this immediately!)

J is for Jams or Jellies, do you eat them, and if so what kind and flavor?

I love orange fig jam.  I usually only use it on g-free bagels and to top oats or buckwheat bakes.

K is for Kashi, name your favorite Kashi product

Wow, I haven’t had anything Kashi in at least a year.  Their go-lean cereal used to be delicious though!

L is for Lunch, what was yours today?

A spinach salad with two soft-boiled eggs, a white radish, and a sweet red pepper – all drizzled with olive oil and some seriously awesome balsamic vinegar.

M is for Microwave, what is your favorite microwave meal/snack?

BUCKWHEAT BAKES.

N is for nutrients, do you like carbs, fats, or proteins best?

I like all of the above – together – in peanut butter form.

O is for Oil, what kind do you use?

Olive oil or coconut oil for cooking/roasting vegetables, canola oil for cooking fish, and sesame oil for stir-fry.  Yes, we have 4 different types of oil at all times. And five types of salt. It comes with the whole marrying- a-future-chef territory.

P is for Protein, how do you get yours?

Beans, nuts, fish, and eggs primarily.  We also eat a lot of random meats since Brad brings home things from the Butchery and from school.  For instance, in our fridge we currently have – pheasant (from culinary school), Serrano ham, breasola (cured beef – this is like heaven), and cured salmon (also from culinary school). We primarily eat fish but we are equal opportunity carnivores.

Q is for Quaker, how do you like your oats?

Overnight, with peanut butter and strawberries.

R is for Roasting, what is your favorite thing to roast?

Besides sweet potato fries?

Marshmallow meringue.

S is for Sandwich, what’s your favorite kind?

Anything with avocado and turkey Reubans.

T is for Travel, how do you handle eating while traveling?

I pack my own snacks if I can, Google search just about everything on my cell phone, and ask a ton of questions.  I occasionally pout and get pissy.

U is for Unique, what is one of your weirdest food combos?

Potato chips + ketchup. Yum.

V is for Vitamins, what kind do you take?

Lots!

Probiotic, Glucosamine, fish oil (occasionally), vitamin d, vitamin b-complex

W is for Wasabi, yay or nay?

YES. Especially fresh, real wasabi (not that green play-do type stuff).

X is for XRAY. If we xrayed your belly right now, what food would we see?

I feel like you would still see dinner from last night:

Slow roasted egg with roasted scallops, bacon, peas, and microgreens.

Tandoori fried cauliflower (I want to eat this all the time. Seriously.)

Butter-poached cod loin with cured foie gras (HOLY yum.  You can probably see my poor liver crying over this meal while my stomach does a happy dance)

Vanilla bean gelato.

Y is for Youth, what food reminds you of your childhood?

Tia salad (romaine lettuce with mayo, salt, and pepper – I hate mayo but love this so much), enchiladas, tamales, fried bologna sandwiches.

Z is for Zucchini, how do you prepare it?

Calabacitas!

Leave a Reply

