Overnight Oats

If you check out my Daily Eats section, you have probably seen me mention Overnight Oats.  They are one of my absolute favorite things to have for breakfast and are perfect for during the week when I want to sleep in as long as possible.

I first heard of Overnight Oats from Angela over at Oh She Glows. She is forever posting delicious looking breakfasts treats and I knew I had to get in on the action. Overnight Oats are so easy, they don’t really need a recipe.  They may look a little strange, but I am betting you will become addicted to them. Quickly.

This morning I was inspired by the amazing strawberries that we found at the first farmer’s market yesterday.  I mean, seriously, could they be any more gorgeous?

I wish computer screens were scratch and sniff.

You can add anything you want to your oats – in this bowl , I have a blob of homemade chunky cashew butter and strawberries. I prefer my oats to be a bit liquidy, but add less milk if you want a hearty bowl. Play around and see what you like.

Overnight Oats

inspired by Oh She Glows

1/3-1/2 cup g-free rolled oats (depending on how much you want)

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

2/3 cup coconut milk (or any dairy or non-dairy milk you like! Also, you can add less or more milk depending on the consistency you like. I prefer mine a bit more liquidy).

1 tablespoon honey

toppings!

1. The night before: Mix together oats, ground flax seed and milk in a container or bowl. Cover and place in the fridge overnight.

2. The next morning: Stir oats around, add 1 tablespoon of honey, and any toppings or add-ins that you desire!

Leave a Reply

